Monday, April 11, 2016

Prepping Ain't Easy....


The second week of my journey has begun, and I have to say, I am feeling really good! It is amazing how much better my body feels in just 1 week- I never really listened to what my body was telling me prior to this. But then again, maybe I did, and just chose to ignore it. Who knows, but now here I am doing what I need to do, and feeling great about it! Week 1 was a big success, and I was really proud of myself for staying on track. The meal prep I did last Sunday proved to go even better than I expected, so I knew that meal prepping, no matter how hard, would have to be the norm from now on.

For anyone that knows me, you know just how much I LOATHE going to the store for groceries. I don't know if it's the very act of shopping for food that bothers me or the fact that there are WAY too many choices for each item in the store. I mean, why does there have to be 16 different kinds of oatmeal? They're OATS.

Whatever the reason, I hate grocery shopping, but have found myself not minding it so much now. For meal prepping purposes, I have no choice, so I guess it doesn't really matter if I mind it or not- it has to get done.

Last week, I found myself with a huge grocery list since I was literally starting with nothing, but this week, my list was much smaller. I find it is so much easier to plan out my menu- breakfast, 2 snacks a day, lunch, and dinner prior to hitting the store, so that I know what I need and I don't over buy. And since I totally over bought last week, I found myself with lots of extras to work with. :)

It took me about 45 minutes to maneuver through the aisles this time around versus my 2 hour adventure last Sunday, so I was extremely happy about that. I never used to go to the store, so being there last week was sooooo overwhelming and fascinating. I'm weird, I know. ha ha.

Anyway, I made it home within the hour, and I was ready to go. It seemed to go much smoother this week than last- last week was just a mess. Ha ha. Since the meats I bought would take the longest to cook, I started with those first. I chopped up any accompanying vegetables, and threw everything in the oven. While that cooked, I started to chop up lettuce and spinach for my salads, and cucumbers to go with some of my dinners. I cooked oatmeal and packed snacks, as well. I put my label maker, a Christmas gift I had never used before, to good use. I actually had a little too much fun with that label maker- it's the little things. :)


Once all my meats were done cooking, it was time to get organized. I don't have containers for every single thing I make, but I make due with what I have, and improvise the rest. After one day, I am able to replenish some of my containers to use for a meal later in the week.
I get bored with food so easily, so I like to make a variety of things. Last week was mainly chicken and veggies since I was just starting and it seemed like the easiest plan to stick with at the time. This week, I made chicken with veggies, a whole wheat penne pasta w/ chopped zucchini, and some very lean hamburger patties. I tried to really like ground turkey, but some things I refuse to compromise on. I'm stubborn that way, but at least I know that anything I am doing now is so much better than where I was.


Overall, my meal prepping takes several hours from beginning to end. It's not really the cooking because it is as easy as throwing a bunch of stuff in the oven. It's the chopping, organization, and packing things that really takes time and patience. Clean up takes a while too, but I find that washing dishes as I finish one thing makes it less overwhelming.
By the end of the day, I was exhausted but really proud of myself. The best part about meal prepping, is that now I don't have to worry about anything else the rest of the week. I can just pull out my pre-labeled, pre-cooked food and snacks, and know that I won't go hungry or even have to make a decision on what to eat. And most of all, I know that I am on my way to a healthier ME.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Time to Lose...




I have officially started my journey to a healthier lifestyle, and I have to say that I am already really proud of myself. Finally doing something about a life-long struggle feels liberating and makes me feel so happy. I know I will stick with it this time because I am a different person than I was before. I am more focused and prepared, and I am ready for my life to change for the better. With that said, I have already inspired a few people who are ready for the same.


A couple of women I work with have decided to join me, as well as, my eldest brother. Having a great support system is awesome, but I know ultimately- no matter what they decide to do, I will have to keep myself motivated. Lucky for me, I have plenty of things to keep me motivated and on the right track. I will share more on that in a later post. :)


Sunday was the big weigh-in day, and let me tell you, it was not a pretty sight. I knew my number would be a big one because I had to buy a scale that could read a higher capacity of weight. Thank God for online shopping- I can't even imagine trying to go out and buy that somewhere- how embarrassing. I had really hoped it wouldn't be as high as I thought, but it was. And even though I wasn't that surprised, I was still kinda surprised. ha ha. Does that make sense? Anyway, I was so ashamed to even say it out loud- I didn't want to tell anyone, not even my family. Thoughts like, "do I really look THAT big?" and "why did I let it get this bad?" consumed my mind, but as I let the thoughts sink in, I decided to change them. Quickly they moved from feeling sorry for myself to "at least you recognize the problem and are doing something about it now" and "your weight does NOT define you". I wish I was brave enough to disclose my weight to you now, but I am not that brave- not yet, anyway.


I did end up telling my brother what I weigh since he and I are in this together, and it is only fair to share. Still embarrassed to say it out loud, I sent him a text instead. He replied back with the best response, and one that I really needed. He said, "okay, and next month it will be 10lbs less." So, even in my feeling-completely-ashamed-and-embarrassed moment, he made me feel so much better. You gotta love big brothers- I know I do.


Ten pounds in 30 days is the goal we set for ourselves, and I think it is a completely reasonable, attainable one. One of the problems that I had the last time I did this, was setting huge goals for myself, and getting discouraged when I didn't meet them. If I take a different approach this time- set smaller goals, reach them, and set another goal, reach that one, and so on and so forth, I know I will have a better chance of succeeding. Let me re-phrase- I KNOW I WILL SUCCEED. :)
The journey has officially begun, and I am ready for the challenge. I am looking forward to seeing some awesome results, and to sharing them with all of you!!


Stay Tuned....