Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Frustrations and Blah, Blah, Blah
Here I am finishing up week 3 of my journey- a healthier lifestyle, a healthier me, and I have to say that the first couple of weeks went very well. I was happy with the way my body felt, the results from my first week weigh-in, and how organized I was with meal-prepping on Sundays. Everything was going perfectly, and then week 3 came along.
After spending a fun weekend with friends, and doing so well with my eating while there, I was sure I had dropped a couple of more pounds by Sunday. Well, much to my surprise and dismay, the scale showed that I had not lost any weight at all. How could that be? I had been so good. I had done everything right- or so I thought. My clothes were fitting bigger, and my friends had even noticed that I had lost some weight since I last saw them. How could this happen? I stay disappointed, and admittedly began to get discouraged. Then it was time for meal-prep....
I was already thrown off my game because I had been out of town and I didn't get home until late afternoon that Sunday. And once I got home, the last thing I wanted to do was go grocery shopping and do meal-prep, so I didn't.
Luckily, I had plenty of meals that were already cooked in the freezer, so I just took what I had out,and created my meals. I have to admit- they were sort of half-assed and not well thought out, but I think I did a great job despite not doing any type of planning.
I did run out of vegetables for salad, though, so I ended up making a trip to the store to pick up some fruits and veggies, but it was a quick trip, and I bought nothing else. Since the food that I brought out of the freezer was going to take a bit to defrost, I created my meals on a daily basis instead of all at one time. It seemed much easier than spending an entire day on meal-prep, and I liked that, but I also felt that it gave me a little room to cheat if I wanted since I didn't have anything readily available, and I definitely don't need any kind of reason or excuse to cheat.
I survived the week as best as I could, and I didn't cheat at all. I still ate what I was supposed to, and overall, I was proud of myself. I do have to say though, I was disappointed with not losing any weight at all, and angry a little as well. I mean, I did so well while in Austin, and that's because I was sure I was going to cheat. I guess at the end of the day, I shouldn't have been mad or discouraged . The truth of the matter is, cheating is never really that appealing to me anymore. I like the way I feel with all that I am putting into my body, and I know that the rewards are coming- I just have to be patient. And even though week 3 seemed like a total bust, I was able to put it behind me, hold my head up high, and get right back to where I was- feeling determined, confident, and ready to move forward with a positive attitude.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

So proud of you!! Keep your head high. If you did not gain weight I would count that as a win. You may not have lost, bit cool if you did not gain as well.
ReplyDeleteKeep up the good work!!
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
ReplyDelete